Our Crowning

28 Jun

Matthew and I were blessed to go through the betrothal and crowning service on Sunday after liturgy. I was going to blog about it, but my dear husband beat me to it!  If you’re interested, head over to his blog to read about the blessing. What a joyous day it was, and how lucky we are.  I have a little to add to Matthew’s thoughts, but will share that later.

Also, I feel the need to say to our friends, family, and those who have the wrong idea about the blessing of our marriage.  In no way was our marriage invalid (in our eyes or the eyes of the church) before this blessing.  Because Matthew will be an Orthodox priest someday (Lord willing), it is important that he receive every sacrament available to him.  Even if this were not case, we would have been glad to receive this blessing from God.

Finally, if  you have found your way here researching the Orthodox marriage blessings for those who have joined the Orthodox church after marriage, please feel free to leave a message, question, or comment.  I had a terrible time trying to find information, and I will be glad to share what I know with you.

5 Responses to “Our Crowning”

  1. Chanan June 29, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    As always, we are so happy for you guys! It looks as if the service was very beautiful. I know that God has renewed his blessing on your marriage through this, and I pray that you will continue to see the fruits of that.

  2. pam and paul kimmel June 29, 2010 at 4:30 am #

    It looks like such a beautiful ceremony, we do wish we could have been there.

  3. Ashley June 29, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    This is so beautiful! You are blessed to taste such a heavenly experience. God grant you many happy years together.

  4. Ashley June 29, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    I should say, may He grant you many MORE happy years together!

  5. Michelle M. July 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    I saw your comment on Mat. Emma’s blog and I wanted to check out your blog. Your little girl is just beautiful. I have to admit I am a bit jealous that you were able to have your wedding blessed. We converted to Orthodoxy about three years ago, but the OCA does not typically bless marriages. I would have loved that, but we are thankful that we were able to have a beautiful (perfect!) Protestant wedding six and a half years ago. Many years to you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

