Poetry Wednesday – May 26, 2010

26 May

In five days Matthew and I will celebrate our seventh wedding anniversary.  We met, fell in love, and married young.  We often heard (and even said), “Are you sure?  Are you really sure?”  Never have I doubted that this is the man I am to spend my life with.  Over the years we have learned how to grow as individuals while growing together as a couple.  I cannot begin to explain our relationship here, but rather want to share a beautiful poem by Wendell Berry.  What a wonderful thing it is to love, to be willing to sacrifice for it, and to be the recipient of it.

Like The Water

by Wendell Berry

.

Like the water
of a deep stream,
love is always too much.
We did not make it.
Though we drink till we burst,
we cannot have it all,
or want it all.
In its abundance
it survives our thirst.
.
In the evening we come down to the shore
to drink our fill,
and sleep,
while it flows
through the regions of the dark.
It does not hold us,
except we keep returning to its rich waters
thirsty.
.
We enter,
willing to die,
into the commonwealth of its joy.

.

.More at Enanoslivo!

3 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday – May 26, 2010”

  1. kris May 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Wendell Berry. In my opinion, he is able to capture just about every emotion I am capable of having. Have you read his poem “the blue robe”? Happy Anniversary to you both! I hope you are able to celebrate with a little something fun.

    • Jennifer May 27, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      I know what you mean, Kris! I am completely enamored with his writing. I have read “The Blue Robe” and adore it (surprised?)! Have you read “They”?

      I find it crazy that many of his female (generally feminist) critics talk about his disdain and disrespect for women. Obviously none of them had read any of these three poems. Oh! Or “They Sit Together on the Porch”.

  2. Molly Sabourin May 31, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Gorgeous, Jennifer!! I’ve not read this Wendell Berry piece before. It truly is an extraordinarily insightful love poem. Happy Anniversary to you and your husband!!

Leave a Reply

