Poetry Wednesday – May 12, 2010

12 May

Today would have been my dad’s 61st birthday.  Though he was just barely 52 when he died, I have no trouble imagining him as he might have been today had he lived.  Though human beings are dynamic by nature, my father was awfully static.  He loved information, his family, and technology.  At the very end of his life he learned to love God and His grace.  But my dad, like all of us, had his faults, too.  One of the funnier of them was his big talk/little action way of life.  He could, indeed, solve all the world’s problems by breakfast only to solve them all again in a different (but as equally brilliant) way by lunch.  Write a letter to his representative about it?  He’ll get to that tomorrow.

He was a lovely man and I miss him desperately.  His quirks remain always in my heart, and luckily for me, Edgar Albert Guest wrote them down for me.  Now, my dad was  a little handier than the father in this poem, but you get the gist.

Father

by Edgar Albert Guest
.
My father knows the proper way
…..The nation should be run;
He tells us children every day
…..Just what should now be done.
he knows the way to fix the trusts,
…..He has a simple plan;
But if the furnace needs repairs,
…..We have to hire a man.
My father, in a day or two
…..Could land big thieves in jail;
There’s nothng that he cannot do,
…..He knows no word like “fail.”
“Our confidence” he would restore,
…..Of that there is no doubt;
But if there is a chair to mend,
…..We have to send it out.
All public questions that arise,
…..He settles on the spot;
He waits not till the tumult dies,
…..But grabs it while it’s hot.
In matters of finance he can
…..Tell Congress what to do’
But, O, he finds it hard to meet
…..His bills as they fall due.
It almost makes him sick to read
…..The thing law-makers say’
Why, father’s just the man they need,
…..He never goes astray.
All wars he’d very quickly end,
…..As fast as I can write it’
But when a neighbor starts a fuss,
…..‘Tis mother has to fight it.
In conversation father can
…..Do many wondrous thigns’
He’s built upon a wiser plan
…..Than presidents or kings.
He knows the ins and outs of each
…..And every deep transaction;
We look to him for theories,
…..But look to ma for action.
Find more poetry and submit your own favorite at Enanoslivo.
5 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday – May 12, 2010”

  1. Molly Sabourin May 12, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    This post and poem made me smile, Jennifer. You know you truly care for someone, like really, unconditionally love them, when you can know like the back of your hand, and appreciate, their little quirks. This is a very sweet tribute to your father.

  2. Beth johnson May 12, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Thinking of you on this memorable day. Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your father (Memory Eternal!) and this poem. Peace to you.

  3. pam and paul kimmel May 13, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    I am printing this poem to keep, it brings a smile to my face as I can remember how worked up your dad would get about the world situations and how he always had a solution.

  4. kris May 13, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    A sweet remembrance of your father. I like how this poem is loving and manages to poke fun at the same time.

  5. Karmin Hibbard May 14, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Wow – I thought my father was the only one who did that! I fear he would not find the poem as humorous as I do, but it did make me smile. Thank you for the reminder to appreciate all of his quirks while we still have him here on earth.

    Thank you too for sharing your father’s legacy with the world through your blog. May his memory be eternal!

Leave a Reply

