Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert {Book Review}

25 Apr

I picked up Eat, Pray, Love at a Friends of the Library book sale a couple of weeks ago.  I’d heard good things about it and also knew that a movie was made from the book.  I haven’t read anything trendy in a while and thought that I’d find my way to something that everyone else was/is reading.  That’s about all I knew before diving in.

Elizabeth Gilbert, the author and main character of the book, realized while she and her husband were “trying” to conceive that she no longer wanted to be married nor did she want to have a baby then.  Shortly thereafter she left her husband, found a live-in boyfriend, acquired a guru, and began yogic meditation.  With a nasty divorce occurring, a desire to learn Italian, and a tumultuous relationship with her boyfriend (along with other reasons), Gilbert decides to spend a year traveling, dividing her time equally between Italy, India, and Indonesia.

This book is full of Gilberts beliefs in “God”, spirituality, and religion.  For some reason, though I’ve read very many texts that disagree with my own theological view, I struggled with this book partially because of that reason.  While at Indiana Wesleyan University, I often found myself irritated with the Christians in my literature courses who refused or struggled through any piece that did not fit into their own world view, but I struggled with this book for the same reasons.

Gilbert’s writing is beautiful and there are some real gems in the book.  So honest is she about her own downfalls and depression that she quickly becomes a friend – the friend that drives me insane because we are nothing alike!  The people she meets on her journeys are amazing and interesting.  I really want to recommend this book to you for those reasons…but I just can’t.

Yes, read it if you want some lovely writing that you can skim, or if you believe that God is a relative being/term, or if you can easily read something that is way outside your belief system.  If you struggle with those sorts of things, though, this book probably isn’t for you.

4 Responses to “Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert {Book Review}”

  1. Terry Savoie April 25, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    You’ve taken Buddhism’s Middle Way with this review. Well done!
    Terry S.

  2. kris April 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    This book. I read it, and I enjoyed the writing and was a bit jealous of all the traveling and eating. However, and that should be in all caps, it seemed as if it was a huge celebration of selfishness. As long as we feel better with our selves then it does not matter who we hurt in the process. It made me a bit angry that this book is being held up as THE life changing book for so many people.

  3. Jennifer April 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Kris, I agree whole-heartedly. I certainly will not be seeing the movie! I thought you said that you were reading her second book. What do you think?

  4. kris May 6, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    I have had to put her book down for a bit. I think I wholeheartedly disagree with her whole outlook on life and relationships. Will let you know when/if I finish it!

Leave a Reply

