Poetry Wednesday – April 7, 2010

7 Apr

Descending Theology:  The Resurrection

by Mary Karr

.

From the far star points of his pinned extremeties,

cold inched in- black ice and squid ink-

till the hung flesh was empty.

Lonely in that void even for pain,

he missed his splintered feet,

the human stare buried in his face.

He ached for two hands made of meat

he could reach to the end of.

In the corpse’s core, the stone fist

of his heart began to bang

on the stiff chest’s door, and breath spilled back into that battered shape. Now

.

it’s your limbs he comes to fill, as warm water

shatters at birth, rivering every way.

.

.

Hello again, all.  I’ve been absent from Poetry Wednesday for some time and have missed it.  His resurrection, this Bright Week, and this poem have breathed life back into me, and I hope to be more consistent in sharing with you.

Please go visit Enanoslivo for more poems and to share your own.

4 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday – April 7, 2010”

  1. Kris April 7, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    The last couple lines were exactly how I felt Sunday. As if I was freshly washed and warm, ready to begin again. A beautiful poem.

  2. Molly Sabourin April 7, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Nice, Jennifer! Isn’t it just amazing what can be created, painted (in the right hands), with words? This one really took my breath away. So nice to have you participating in Poetry Wednesdays again! I always love your posts!

  3. beth johnson April 7, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    “My limbs he came to fill.” Love that line. Keep reminding myself of it even when life’s circumstances, i.e. my precious children, press buttons that leave my feeling more defeated than revived.

    Glad to have you back!

  4. Jenny Schroedel April 12, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Jennifer,

    Beautiful! I too, love those final lines about “My limbs he came to fill.”

Leave a Reply

