Clean Monday

15 Feb

Today, in the Eastern Orthodox Church, is the beginning of Great Lent.  Called Clean Monday, today is the day that Orthodox Christians begin the Lenten Fast and strive to increase our spiritual and physical discipline as we await the resurrection of our Lord.

I have to admit that I’m feeling a bit daunted as we begin our first Lenten season as Orthodox Christians.  Because of physical restraints, our household will not hold the complete fast (meat, dairy, olive oil, and wine), but will each hold it according to our own ability. This will may make meal planning a somewhat difficult venture, but will also allow me to meditate even more deeply and frequently of those things not of this world, but of the kingdom of God.  Prostrations with the extra weight of a wiggling toddler ought to remind me of the gravity and responsibility of raising her in and teaching her the Faith.  Increased prayer when I already struggle to find enough time in the day for everything should remind me of my priorities.

So though I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed in the beginning of this Lenten season, and in this very new season of our lives, I pray “Lord, have mercy!” and thank Him that I know He will.

Many prayers for all of you who read this blog as you, no doubt, are on your own journeys (of many kinds, I’m sure).

A blessed Clean Monday to you, and a fruitful Great Lent.

“Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord: though your sins are like scarlet,

they shall be as white as snow;

though they are red like crimson,

they shall become like wool.

Isaiah 1:18-19

Leave a Reply

