“Hey, I’m going to be a little longer…”

11 Feb

This is how a phone conversation with Matthew started this evening.  He’d run to Best Buy to grab a video game with his giftcard and then planned to run to the grocery store for some cake baking supplies. Frustrated with the customer service at Best Buy (go figure), he decided to call the corporate office and give Gamestop his business this evening. So, on hold with BB, angry, and on a mission for his video game, he headed into Gamestop and was oblivious to his surroundings.  When he got to the counter to pay for his game, the clerk said he couldn’t ring him up…the guy who had just left the store robbed them.

So, let’s rewind to before Matthew left the house.  We’d argued and didn’t bother to say goodbye to each other when he left.   I stewed a bit once he’d left, and moved on with my homework.

Back to the call.  Robbery?  Was everyone okay?  Did the guy have a gun? Why are you being detained for questioning if you didn’t see anything?  Matthew said he didn’t know if the perp (I’ve always wanted to say that) had a weapon or not, though he suspected he did – he didn’t want to know for sure, though.  Neither do I. Thanks be to God that no one was hurt, and that Matthew was able to remain oblivious to what was going on.  He’s been known to stop shoplifters in the past, who knows what his first reaction would have been.  Again, I don’t want to know.

In any event, he’s safe and my heart started beating again, oh, about fifteen seconds ago.  And I learned a lesson.  One that, praise God, I’ll be able to take to heart and correct my behavior.  My last conversation with Matthew could have ended in anger and silence. It makes me sick to think about.  He is far, far too precious to me than that.

So, two new rules in the Moore household:

1) No one is allowed to be involved (neither knowingly or unknowingly) in any more robberies.

2) All family members deserve to be greeted with and depart in love.

2 Responses to ““Hey, I’m going to be a little longer…””

  1. Pam and Paul Kimmel February 12, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Thanks be to God that Matthew is ok, he is precious to us too.

  2. Brenda February 12, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I absolutely love rule #1- and Rule #2 is something we made a priority in our house – especially since the girls cry when someone leaves without giving them a kiss.

Leave a Reply

