Axios!

26 Jan

Today Matthew headed into Chicago to meet with His Eminence Metropolitan Iakovos and Fr. Dokos (our priest) to gain His Eminence’s formal approval for Matthew to attend Holy Cross this next fall.  Matthew left us this morning hopeful and returned a future seminarian from the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Chicago!

So, it is official.  We will be moving to Boston, Mass. sometime this summer. The next hurdle is to see if we can get on-campus housing.  When we visited in October, we were told there were only six apartments left, and two weeks ago there were only two remaining.  I’d love to be on-campus as a recent convert because it would be wonderful to be around others who have lived the Faith for much longer than I have.  To be surrounded by Greek culture and language would be a huge blessing.  Not to mention the benefit (as we have here at Nashotah House) to Matthew to be able to walk from home to chapel/classes in moments.  My heart isn’t exactly aching to move out east, and this one little detail coming into place would make the prospect much easier for me.  Your prayers are requested!

Now the transition begins, but for tonight it’s all success.  Congratulations, Matthew Thomas!

6 Responses to “Axios!”

  1. Pam and Paul Kimmel January 27, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    Congratulations Matthew, we are so proud of you. We will pray for your housing and for your future as you prepare to move.

  2. Fr. Peter January 27, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Great News!

    I look forward to having you guys closer.

    Anything I can do please let me know.

  3. Ashley January 28, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Congratulations to all of you! There are some more big changes ahead but I will be praying that God leads you every step of the way. Bless you, friends.

  4. Julia January 28, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog and it’s nice to discover yours as well. I like the poem you chose and also wanted to chime in and say congratulations on your move to Holy Cross. I did an MA at SVS and then worked on the campus of HC for two years (2001-2003) when I was still single–a beautiful place to be and Boston is such a fun town.

  5. Jennifer January 31, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    Julia, Thank you very much! I’m certainly looking forward to all the awesome stuff to do in Boston! A little nervous about the move, but we’ve done it before.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Official! « The Public Anchorite - January 27, 2010

    […] Iakovos and I did receive his blessing to go to seminary in the fall. Jennifer wrote a blog about the news, and it’s far better than I could have done. I encourage you to read […]

Leave a Reply

