Poetry Wednesday – January 20, 2010

20 Jan

Loss And Gain

by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

When I compare
What I have lost with what I have gained,
What I have missed with what attained,
Little room do I find for pride.

I am aware
How many days have been idly spent;
How like an arrow the good intent
Has fallen short or been turned aside.

But who shall dare
To measure loss and gain in this wise?
Defeat may be victory in disguise;
The lowest ebb is the turn of the tide.

Click here to share your own and read more.

2 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday – January 20, 2010”

  1. Emily Lorelli January 21, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Jennifer — How very lovely and simple. This is one that I will need to come back to every once in a while so that it can continue to work on me and unfold. Thank you!

  2. Emily Lorelli January 22, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Though I’ve just started to read your blog, I enjoy it so much. I’ve nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger Award. Please see my blog for the details. May God bless you and grant you strength.

Leave a Reply

