This one’s for all of the parents out there…

7 Jan

This poem was shared by one of the ladies yesterday for Poetry Wednesday. It is too perfect not to share, as it describes so many days that I pray I will remember and wish Adeline could. I intend to have this framed and put in her room, in case the pictures don’t come out, or don’t last, or get lost in the move, or should she ever doubt my love for her.

I’m not familiar with the author, but I sure hope there are more gems out there by her. Enjoy!

In Case the Pictures Don’t Come Out
by Paula Lesso

In case the pictures don’t come out,
It was a perfect day.
You wore the big red rubber boots
When we went out to play.
You plucked a long worm from the dirt
And held it in your hand.
You buried seven magic rocks
Forever in the sand.
You spun until you spun too fast
And stared up at the sky.
You called to beetles, birds, and planes,
And spread your wings to fly.
You gave me gifts of violets
With your sweet, crooked smile.
You studied spots on ladybugs
And hummed a song awhile.
You kissed me once, you kissed me twice,
And then you ran away.
In case the pictures don’t come out,
It was a perfect day.


One Response to “This one’s for all of the parents out there…”

  1. Pam and Paul Kimmel January 8, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    What a wonderful poem, I love it.

Leave a Reply

