Handmade Holidays

26 Dec

I pray that you all had wonderful, wonderful times with your family and friends. We did!

We, in the Moore household, have had a pretty crafty holiday.  We decorated a tree for the first time in our married life (6 years!), but realized we had very few ornaments and the ones we had were not necessarily Adeline friendly.  So I made a few ornaments that she could pull off and put back on the very naked bottom of the tree.

This year my family decided to focus more on the times and experiences  than store-bought gifts, so the adults had a cookie exchange instead of buying manufactured gifts.  I stumbled upon My Baking Addiction, a blog by, well, a woman addicted to baking.  I found all my recipes there.

I made the Snickerdoodle Blondies

The Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

And the Mint Chocolate Cookies, which I don’t have a picture of but were my very favorites!  The batch made six(!) dozen cookies, and they tasted like Thin Mints (yes, the Girl Scout cookie)!  Please, please make them  and give away 5 and 1/2 dozen of them or you’ll eat them all!

As usual, we drew names for the kids’ exchange.  Little Adeline got her 2 1/2-year-old cousin, Maya.  Maya loves dolls, destruction, and building.  So, I let Adeline pick the fabric for a doll.  Maya loved it.  I also made her a memory/matching game, but owe her a bag to stow it all in.

I know she doesn't look happy, but she did love it!

The backs (look kind of like ravioli, huh?).

The fronts (Terrible picture)

Finally, I decided to make a cape/apron for Adeline.  She loves to have blankets, towels, shirts, etc. wrapped around her shoulders like a cape. As soon as it’s in place, she looks directly at Papa so he can tell her how pretty she is.  She also loves to be in the kitchen with me, so an apron was in order.  I saw an idea for a cape with detachable waist straps. Wear it in front and it’s an apron, wear it in back and it’s a cape.  So I sewed my little fingers off (well, not really…) and made this:

Guess what.  She hates it!  So, it hangs on the door knob, she eyes it with suspicion, and I am supremely grateful that I spent my time instead of money on it!

So there’s our handmade holiday. I’ve officially got the sewing/crafting bug again…just in time for classes to start again in a week!  I’d better get to work!

2 Responses to “Handmade Holidays”

  1. Brenda December 27, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    ooh where did you get your pear/apple fabric?!

    • Jennifer December 27, 2009 at 9:55 am #

      Brenda,
      It’s an Alexander Henry print I got about two years ago. I got it at Joann fabrics. They still had it a couple of months ago!

Leave a Reply

