Poetry Wednesday

9 Dec

Edited to add:  Matthew has also posted a poem today.  An excellent one at that!

I fell in love with my husband, Matthew, when I was seventeen.

I fell in love with this poem when I was eighteen.

And when I was nineteen, and we were engaged (Matthew and me, not the poem), I knew that the final lines of the poem must be inscribed in his wedding band.  And they are.

Touch Me

by Stanley Kunitz

Summer is late, my heart.
Words plucked out of the air
some forty years ago
when I was wild with love
and torn almost in two
scatter like leaves this night
of whistling wind and rain.
It is my heart that’s late,
it is my song that’s flown.
Outdoors all afternoon
under a gunmetal sky
staking my garden down,
I kneeled to the crickets trilling
underfoot as if about
to burst from their crusty shells;
and like a child again
marveled to hear so clear
and brave a music pour
from such a small machine.
What makes the engine go?
Desire, desire, desire.
The longing for the dance
stirs in the buried life.
One season only,
and it’s done.
So let the battered old willow
thrash against the windowpanes
and the house timbers creak.
Darling, do you remember
the man you married? Touch me,
remind me who I am.

I always find it interesting to hear poets read their own poems.  Here is a video of this poem being read by Mr. Kunitz.

Please head over to here to read poems chosen by other bloggers or participate yourself!

3 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday”

  1. Molly Sabourin December 9, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    A-w-e-s-o-m-e!! This one totally took my breath away, and to hear him read it… oh, what a treat! Thank you, thank you, Jennifer, for sharing this amazing poem!

  2. Kris December 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    That has to be the most romantic line to inscribe on a ring! Absolutely beautiful. I’ve shared this poem a few times today. Just beautiful.

  3. Jennifer December 10, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    I’m glad you enjoyed this, ladies.

    Really, Kris, what a wonderful idea to share our favorite poems! How have I hoarded these all this time? I wish tomorrow was Wednesday again!

Leave a Reply

