Defiance, Wisconsin

8 Dec

That’s where we’re living these days.  Lately, our dear, sweet little Adeline has begun to blatantly defy us (mostly me). Now, I know what you’re thinking, “Maybe she’s not defying, maybe she doesn’t understand what you’re telling her.”  That is not possible, friends, that is not possible.  For you see, as she does the naughty thing, she runs away laughing and hides behind the curtain.  Whether it be hitting, running the opposite direction when I ask her to come to me,  or throwing fits, the blessed child engages continually in behavior that drives me insane.

And it does! My goodness, it does.   The fits are the worst, especially the squeals.  I don’t lie when I say that this behavior often shakes my spirit to the core.  My blood boils almost immediately when, for the twentieth time in ten minutes, I explain to Adeline that the dishwasher is not for toddlers, and she may not pull dirty steak knives out while I load it. Why, oh why, must she do that which she know she oughtn’t do and not do the things she’s supposed to do?  Oh wait, this sounds a bit familiar.

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.  (Romans 7:15)

Ah, so maybe how I feel when Adeline disobeys is a tiny, tiny bit of how God feels when I do what I know I am not supposed to do – when I’m quick to anger and quick to speak, when I turn and run from Him clutching my sin as Adeline clutches tissues stolen from the box.  There is pain, frustration, and anger when you know so well what is best for your child and she just won’t do it.

I understand Lord, I understand what You are teaching me in this season of our lives.  Once again You have used my proudest accomplishment, my daughter, to humble me and teach me about myself and Your love for me.

For what does He do as I defy? He loves me and allows me to learn from my transgressions and when the stakes are too high, quickly corrects  my errors.

O God, our heavenly Father, Who lovest mankind, and art most merciful and compassionate, have mercy upon our child, Thy servant, Adeline, for whom I humbly pray Thee, and commend them to Thy gracious protection. Be Thou, O God, her guide and guardian in all her endeavors; lead her in the path of Thy truth, and draw her near to Thee, that she may lead a godly and righteous life in Thy love and fear; doing Thy will in all matters. Give her grace that she may be temperate, industrious, diligent, devout and charitable. Defend her against the assaults of the enemy, and grant her wisdom and strength to resist all temptation and corruption of this life; and direct her in the way of salvation, for the merits of Thy Son, our Savior Jesus Christ, and the intercessions of His Holy Mother, and Thy blessed saints. Amen.

2 Responses to “Defiance, Wisconsin”

  1. Kaitlyn December 10, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    I love your post. I mistakenly thought the terrible two’s wouldn’t start until she was…two! But we’ve been in them for about 5 months now. And the last couple months have only gotten worse. We’ll weather them together and I love your insight into how often we adults are very much like our little children. Have a great day!!

  2. Rachel December 10, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    Like Adeline, the dishwasher and tissue boxes are two of Chayah’s guilty pleasures. I marvel that Chayah goes right for the sharpest knives in the utensil basket. How does she know?

    I, too, can testify to my our children’s sinful nature at this age. Chayah will make her rounds around the apartment and do all the things she knows are off limits and nothing in between–all while looking over her shoulder at me to see what I’ll do. She knows, my friends. She understands and SHE KNOWS! As if to blow her little battle horn, she begins with the TV controls, then moves on to mommy’s books, then heads for the cupboards in the kitchen, and if the phone is within reach, she’s quick to dial “her peeps” before mommy can retrieve it. As far as I know, though, I don’t think she’s calling Adeline to conspire with her against us 🙂

    But it’s getting better and she’s beginning to obey. And sometimes she doesn’t even throw a tantrum. She’s beginning to understand that mommy’s in charge–a stepping stone toward understanding God’s boundaries for her. Lord, help us!

Leave a Reply

