Poetry Wednesday

2 Dec

Thank you to Molly for posting about Poetry Wednesday on her blog.  I’ve always loved poetry.  The writing, the reading, the thinking, and the feeling.  I miss it desperately and rarely find time to consider it or record what I compose in my mind.  I’m hoping, that by taking part on Wednesdays, that I will ease my way back in to one more thing that I love, but convince myself I don’t have time for.

My very favorite poet is Jane Kenyon.  She died some time ago after a long battle with cancer.  For most of her life she battled depression and melancholy, and much of her poetry expresses that.  Her imagery is beautiful.  This poem is one of my very, very favorites.

August Rain, After Haying

Through sere trees and beheaded
grasses the slow rain falls.
Hay fills the barn; only the rake
and one empty wagon are left
in the field.  In the ditches
goldenrod bends to the ground.

Even at noon the house is dark.
In my room under the eaves
I hear the steady benevolence
of water washing dust
raised by the haying
from porch and  car and garden
chair. We are shorn
and purified, as if tonsured.

The grass resolves to grow again,
receiving the rain to that end,
but my disordered soul thirsts
after something it cannot name.

3 Responses to “Poetry Wednesday”

  1. Molly Sabourin December 2, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    Just lovely, Jennifer! What amazing imagery she evokes with her exquisite choice of words. Thank you for sharing this and for introducing me to Jane Kenyon!

    I look forward to reading more of your favorite poems! : )

  2. Kris December 3, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    The last verse is just perfect. My heart swelled reading it.

    Thank you for being part of this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poetry Wednesday « The Public Anchorite - December 9, 2009

    […] Last week Jenny participated in a little thing called Poetry Wednesday. It’s a super awesome way for people to share their […]

Leave a Reply

