Remembering

4 Nov

Today I saw that Fr. Peter Preble is participating in a blog carnival over at Rediscovering the Church and I thought that I would give it a go.  The central theme is “Remember”.

I’ve always found it amazing how the mind recalls certain memories at the most interesting catalysts. Why, when I catch a whiff of a permanent marker, do I always remember making caramel popcorn in my preschool class?  Why do I always start singing to myself “I’m in love, I’m in love, with Attilla the Hun” whenever I see a primer lesson on the letter “H” (which happens a lot these days)?  And why, oh why, do I often, when I read the word ‘because’,  remember  the mnemonic device (Beth CAn USE)I used in elementary school to spell it properly?

Some of these things seem barely worth remembering, but the remembrances that they lead to are not.  When I smell the marker (wow, that sounds bad), I remember the caramel popcorn in preschool, and when I remember preschool, I remember the sweetest preschool worker that loved me and helped teach me what kind of person I wanted to be.

When I remember the song “I’m in love, I’m in love with Attilla the Hun” song, I remember the work my elementary teacher put into teaching us  not-so-interesting things in an interesting and memorable way.  I immediately begin to consider ways to teach Adeline normal, everyday things in a fun and unique way.

When I remember my little device for ‘because’ I remember my sister, Beth who was the founder of the phrase.  She often helped me with my little kid homework, though she was ten years older and way cooler than me.  She let me go to the movies and dinner with her and her boyfriend, did my hair and took glamour shots, and even let me watch MTV (Hey Beth, remember that Paula Abdul video with the cartoon cat?!). Today these memories remind me to treat little ones with dignity, respect, and care.

Why do our brains do this?  We are created to glorify God – our bodies, our minds, our emotions are built to delight in Him and the blessings He bestows upon us.  He uses everyday experiences to recall moments that we may not otherwise recall –  moments that reveal a truth and beauty that we oughtn’t live without acknowledging and learning from.

The next time this amazing gift is given to me, I vow not to let it pass by saying, “Huh, that’s odd.”  But will revel in what I’m being taught.

3 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. Peter P November 4, 2009 at 1:22 am #

    “We are created to glorify God – our bodies, our minds, our emotions are built to delight in Him and the blessings He bestows upon us.”

    Amen to THAT!

    Great post. thank you for sharing such sweet memories… and we’d love for you to join the next carnival, in two week’s time.

  2. joyce November 4, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    This was a wonderful post…I especially loved this- ‘He uses everyday experiences to recall moments that we may not otherwise recall – moments that reveal a truth and beauty that we oughtn’t live without acknowledging and learning from’.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Bridget November 4, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    I agree with Joyce, I love those words.

    Thank you for taking part in the carnival!

Leave a Reply

