The Transformation of the Coat Rack

13 Oct

From

061

To

069

My heart and mind are not embracing autumn this year.   Instead of wanting to play amongst the falling leaves and chilly air, I desire only to be inside and oblivious to the change of seasons.  Perhaps it is because of the very cold, lonely winter last year.  Last winter in a new (colder) state with an infant, I felt a little isolated – even with working and spending time with the Canter ladies.

From the moment I saw the leaves turning on the tree in the Dean’s front yard, I’ve dreaded the winter.  I averted my eyes every  time we walked or drove past, and certainly did not encourage Adeline’s curiosity in playing in the leaves. Though this year I don’t have a fragile infant (who I bundled up in sixty degree weather, I admit it), I rely on an afternoon run outside- for Adeline, not me.  I don’t want to hibernate again.

One by one the coat rack is filling.  First just a little jacket for Adeline for a nippy afternoon. Then came my jacket, heavier coats for both of us (Matthew, I should say, is always warm and chooses not to wear a jacket until the end of November), and then a hat and little mittens for Adeline.  Soon a snowsuit, scarves, and gloves will join their ranks while wet and slushy boots rest beneath them.  I am not ready, but into the cave I go.

Leave a Reply

