First Birthday!

30 Jul

All week I’ve been thinking to myself, “At this time last year I was…”  Today has been rich in those moments.  As I type, I remember resting (finally) comfortably with the epidural that I dreaded, but was shaking as my body was energyless and in shock. At 10:44 pm on July 30, 2008 Adeline arrived via c-section.  She was stubborn even then!

Today, my friends, was pure joy!  The day started off with a new tradition – Matthew taking Adeline out for a Daddy-Daughter birthday breakfast. (I made him ask the waitress to take a picture.)

014

After breakfast was naptime.  After naptime, we went to The Children’s Play Gallery in Delafield.  Adeline had a blast (and really, so did we)

015

018

021

 

025

After an hour and a half, we went home and ate lunch, and then it was afternoon nap (for both Adeline and me while Matthew went to a doctor’s appointment.)  When we woke up, it was present time!  Thank you Grandma Pam and Paul and Debby for her gifts!  For now we are going to put them in her bank until there’s something she can’t live without.

And thank you Uncle Ed and Aunt Vickie for her book money!  We’re going to go shopping for a book this weekend.  We’ll show you what we get!

And thank you Uncle Brad and Aunt Steph for her shoes!!!  They are adorable and we can’t wait to get her in them!

033

 

Matthew and I didn’t want to lavish her with gifts so she received only a few things from us.  The first was her first Icon – A “Tender Mercy” Theotokos.

043

I made her a doll (which I’m not exactly proud of) but she seemed to love it.

037

A kiss for her new baby!

038

And then she got a pink $1 ball from Walmart…it was her favorite gift!

Then it was cake time!

047

 

050

052

Thank you all for all of your wishes, blessings and prayers.  It’s been a beautiful first year, and we’re looking forward to many, many more together!

Leave a Reply

