“I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of Him.” 1 Samuel 1:26-28

27 May

020

Every night while I put Adeline to bed I pray for her.  I pray that she will sleep through the night so that she (and I) may feel rested, renewed, and prepared for the next day.  I pray that God will send His angels to surround her crib, give them charge over her, and do battle for her as necessary.  I pray that every day that He will turn her heart towards Him and that she will be submissive to His will for her life.

I thank God in that moment for Adeline’s life.  I praise Him for the joy and responsibility we receive by her presence every day.  But most of all, I thank Him that she is His first and only ours second.  I thank God that she is ours at all. 

Tonight as I prayed for Adeline, I felt lead to tell you all – to tell anyone who would listen.  This child of God is His gift to us and Matthew and I proclaim it always. Tonight I want to proclaim it to you.  You see, Matthew and I thought we were unable to have children biologically.  For various reasons we believed this and (sort of) came to terms with it.  We were pleased to (and someday will, God willing) adopt children into our family, though it did sadden us that we would never experience the joys of pregnancy and childbirth.

I should say at this point (because we believe the two circumstances to be forever tied) that Matthew has felt a call to ministry since high school.  Over the years he alternately embraced and ran from that call.  Throughout our marriage, for instance, he went from a Theology major to psych major to a Case Manager looking into Clinical Psych programs to thinking about being a Deacon in the Episcopal church to being  a Department Manager at Lowe’s. 

One day we met with Bishop Ackerman and he asked us to visit Nashotah House.  I was very anti-Nashotah.  Besides, we had just bought a house and thought for sure we would wait five or so years before heading to seminary.  However, when the Bishop says visit, you visit.    We did just that in late September (I grouched that my birthday trip was somewhere I didn’t want to be at all).  Within hours of our first full day at the House, we both knew.  It was time to drop our lives, submit ourselves to God’s call for Matthew, and enroll at Nashotah House.

In late November, Matthew and I both got super sick with the flu.  I never really seemed to recover.  Matthew insisted I was pregnant.  I refused to take a test.  Why spend the money and emotion to take it and see a negative sign? Eventually I did and our lives were immediately blessed.

Matthew and I both feel that Adeline is proof of God’s faithfulness to us in our faithfulness to Him.  He most certainly didn’t have to give us anything, nor did  we do anything to deserve such a gift.  Adeline is a constant reminder and reason to push forward through adversity, exhaustion, and disappointment.  When we look at our child we of course see her as all parents see their own children – as heaven sent.  But we also see the graceful fulfillment of the inner-most desire of our hearts.

So daily I praise the God of Heaven and Earth and of  a little, infant blessing named Adeline.

2 Responses to ““I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of Him.” 1 Samuel 1:26-28”

  1. Stephanie May 27, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    Congratulations…you have a beautiful baby!…As my little one drifts off to sleep I say the same prayer…that he sleeps well, that he sees God’s love everyday and that he shows God’s love everyday.
    Thanks for commenting on my blog…yes I live in D-port for now, for my husband is going to Palmer, and then hopefully back to Des Moines when he is finished. 🙂

  2. Christy May 30, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    Nothing more melodious than the sound of a baby’s laughter!

Leave a Reply

