A Voracious Reader!

7 Apr

Today Adeline and I visited the Delafield Public Library.  It’s a tiny little library that is about as big as the Fiction section at the Davenport Public Library.  It’s absolutely wonderful.

There’s something about small libraries that make them so endearing to me.   Perhaps it is because the librarian must be so particular about the books they acquire – they must be the best and what people want – so that the library has a perfect mix of old favorites and new releases.

I’ve been dying to get to story/parent networking time for some time now, and unfortunately I’ll have to keep waiting.  All the programs are while I’m at work so instead Liners and I sat smack dab in the middle of the floor and read every book she could pull off the shelf, which were quite a few! 

In the end, I got the first book of the Mitford Seriesby Jan Karon.  The series chronicles the town of Mitford and the Episcopal rector and parish (see why I might be interested?).  I also chose a book about living the DIY lifestyle.  I’ll read it and if it’s worth mentioning, I’ll tell you all about it.   Really, I’m in the middle of Pudd’nhead Wilson by Mark Twain but how does one go to the library and not get a few books?

I picked a book for Matthew that he may be writing a review for on one of the sites he contributes to.  Adeline got two books on baby signing that we’re working on already.  She knows “eat” and “all done”, though she can’t physically do either yet.

Anyway, enjoy a few pictures from our afternoon. 

Let's read this one, Mama!

Let's read this one, Mama!

 

Oooh, or this one!

Oooh, or this one!

What do you mean these aren't all mine?

What do you mean these aren't all mine?

 

Why can't I take them all home with me?

Why can't I take them all home with me?

I love the library!

I love the library!

Leave a Reply

