Back Home Again in Indiana

19 Jan

This past weekend, Matthew, Adeline, and I struck out for Indiana to visit family and friends.  Matthew and I both went to college in Indiana, Marion to be exact, and found our first Episcopal church family shortly after we were married.  We spent many good times with our friends there and we truly miss them.  It’s certainly difficult to not think of our very first rector when I’m surrounded by priests every day!  We were able to stay with Fr. Jim and Kresha and really enjoyed catching up on the goings on at Gethsemane Church and Marion in general.

I was concerned that Adeline would not do well on a six hour car ride, but she did beautifully.  We stopped at a Target store about half-way through, got her out of her carseat, and walked around for about an hour.  It was nice for Matthew and me, too, to not rush as we have a tendancy to do while traveling. 

Before getting to Marion, we stopped in Pierceton to see my grandmother.  We haven’t seen her in almost three years, and though we knew she is healthy, I was nervous as to how she REALLY was.  Well, just was just as we remembered.  She was overjoyed to meet Adeline and Adeline loved her.  I pray to God that if I live to be her age that I will be just as healthy and astute. 

0081

While in Indiana, we introduced Adeline to the glories of Penguin Point tenderloins, Ivanhoe’s Ice Cream, and the Ice House’s sandwiches…and I think I put on at least 4 or 5 pounds! Horrible!

0064

When I was in college, I took a Nature Literature class.  It’s theme was “What is Home?”  and everything we did revolved around it.  By the end of the class, I determined that both Davenport, Iowa and Marion, Indiana were my homes.  Now we are at Nashotah House and the question intensifies!  I was born and raised in Davenport, started our marriage in Marion, and will raise Adeline for the first three years of her life here at Nashotah.  This is a question I am pondering  this week.  I thought I had it figured out in Nature Lit class, but I’m questioning that these days.  Was one of my very best essays wrong? Is a place not home if you don’t live there?

Anyway, we loved being with you, Indiana friends, and will miss you.  We miss Gethsemane and are grateful for all that you have taught us and that we still learn from you though we are away.

Leave a Reply

